bibliophile · Uncategorized

Book Sacrifice [Tag]

The book sacrifice tag was created by Ariel Bissett over on YouTube (watch here). The tag gives you scenarios, and you have to sacrifice a book that you did not particularly enjoy for each one. I know that I’m waaaaay late on this, but I’m writing this at 2:30 in the morning so why not?

  1. ZOMBIE APOCALYPSE: You’re in a book store, happily browsing the selections when, suddenly, zombies have risen from the dead and are making a bee line for the book store. Luckily, the manager comes over the intercom and says that the military found out the zombies’ weakness: they can’t stand overhyped books. Which overhyped book do you pick?
    twilightbook
    Twilight by Stephanie Meyer

    I tried to read this book my 7th grade year, and I could only get 73 pages into it before I couldn’t take it anymore and had to tap out.

  2. HAIR SALON: You have just spent hours in the hair salon getting your perfect hair cut and color. Just as you pay and are heading for the door, it starts pouring rain outside. What sequel do you use as your umbrella?
    beautiful_darkness_book_2nd
    Beautiful Darkness by Kami Garcia and Margaret Stohl

    I absolutely loved the first book in this series, Beautiful Creatures, when I first read it in middle school. I loved the southern charm mixed with the otherworldly aspects. I was so excited to get my hands on the sequel and boy was I disappointed. I honestly don’t even remember the plot in this book. All I remember is the forced, unrealistic love triangle that got on my last nerve.

  3. ENGLISH LECTURE: Your professor is babbling on and on about how this one classic changed the face of literature and is just so amazing. You don’t agree with them, so you take the classic and chuck it at them. Which classic is it?
    aseparatepeace
    A Separate Peace by John Knowles

    I had to read this book my freshman year of high school for my honors English course, and it was absolute torture. The book follows a man who goes back to his old boarding school and remembers all of the events that took place there when he was a student. I don’t remember a lot of the plot, because, frankly, there wasn’t one.

  4. GLOBAL WARMING: You are in the library, enjoying yourself, when BOOM. Global warming is in full swing and the world outside has been sent into the next ice age. What book do you hate so much that you will burn it for warmth?
    walden
    Walden by Henry David Thoreau

    This is another book that I had to read for an honors English course in high school. I absolutely hated every second of this book. While there were some profound quotes from time to time, you had to read through Thoreau describing a pond for twenty pages to get to them.

And, with that, is the end of my Book Sacrifice tag! Don’t forget to check out the original on Ariel Bissett’s YouTube channel if you haven’t already!

Leave a Reply

