bibliophile · Book Reviews

You by Caroline Kepnes Review (Spoiler Free)

you

Title: You

Author: Caroline Kepnes

Published: September 25th, 2014 by Atria/Emily Bestler Books

Genre: Fiction, Thriller, Mystery

Rating: 4/5


You is about a woman who gets stalked (Guinevere Beck), and is written from the perspective of the stalker (Joe Goldberg). The action of the story begins when Beck visits the bookstore that Joe works at. He is completely enamored with her beauty and attitude, so he does everything he can to learn everything about her. Joe is obsessed with Beck and can’t get her out of his head. Joe ends up committing some pretty questionable acts along the way to be with her.

This was a very weird read for me. I hated both of the main characters. I hated everything they did to one another (and to others), but I rooted for them. I felt the most strange about Joe. He’s a creep. He’s disgusting. He does some pretty terrible things. But I rooted for him, and it was the strangest thing that I have ever experienced in my entire life. Beck is no princess either. Beck is also a huge jerk, but I wanted her to do well in life too. I don’t want to say too much because I don’t want to give anything away, but just know that they do some questionable things, and I still kinda liked them? It’s so hard to explain.

This book is not for everyone. It contains some pretty strong language, some cringe-worthy stalking scenes, and explicit sexual content. I recommend this book if these types of things don’t bother you, but if you’re easily weirded out by any detail of violent or sexual acts, I would stay away from this novel. But, if you’re messed up like me and enjoy that kind of thing, go for it.

-S

Leave a Reply

